P-16 BEST Award Winners Announced for 2020

BEST Award winners 2020 at Vol State

The North Central P-16 Council recently announced the 2020 BEST (Businesses Empowering Students and Teachers) Award winners. The BEST Award celebrates exemplary support of education among community leaders, business owners, and entrepreneurs. It recognizes those who share knowledge and expertise, advocate, and foster student success in pre-K through postsecondary education. The P-16 Council is made up of area secondary school educators, higher education leaders and business people. It is led by Volunteer State Community College. The goal of P-16 is to promote the relationship between education and the value of work, develop a highly trained workforce, and create a culture of lifelong learning by positively impacting student success through awareness, advocacy, and action. The BEST Award winners were honored by the Council at the October meeting.

Congratulating the award winners. Pictured left to right: Hilary Marabeti, Vol State assistant vice president; Macon County: Mark Darnell, Macon County Chronicle, owner/sports; Robertson County: Donny King, TN Kids Nutrition, executive director; Wilson County: Darlene Story and Claire McCall, Genesco, Inc.; Trousdale County: Dr. Amy Broyles, Hartsville Pharmacy, pharmacist/co-owner; and Jerry Faulkner, Vol State president. Not pictured: Sumner County: Pam Ogden, Business Credit Reports, president and founder.