Great Showing for Vol State in AMATYC/TMATYC Math Competitions

Mon, Dec 12, 2022

Last month, some Vol State math students took part in the AMATYC and TMATYC math competitions.

AMATYC stands for American Mathematical Association of Two-Year Colleges and is a national math competition. It is a two-round competition centered around calculus. The first round is held in the Fall and the second round is held the following Spring.

TMATYC stands for Tennessee Mathematical Association of Two-Year Colleges and is a statewide math competition, here in Tennessee. It has five levels of competition: Survey of Mathematics, Precalculus, Statistics, Calculus A, and Calculus B.

Students received cash prizes for the top three scores and national and state recognition for the top 10 scores.

Here are some of the results from the AMATYC competition:

  • 38 Vol State students participated in the AMATYC contest on Friday, Nov. 4th
  • Top five students are chosen to make a team representing Vol State
  • Currently, our team score ranked 31st place among 82 community colleges nationwide that have recorded their team scores

Here are some of the results from the TMATYC competition

  • 51 Vol State students participated in the five TMATYC contests on Friday, Nov. 11th
  • 17 students placed in the top ten. In other words, 1/3 of the 2022 TMATYC contest's top ten students are Vol State students
  • 3 Vol State students won cash prizes ($75 for 1st place, $50 for 2nd place, $30 for 3rd place)
  • Vol State tied for 2nd place in terms of the number of top-three winners among 6 participating TN community colleges
  • Our students made it to the top 4 in all five contests, and our two 4th place students are only one point away from winning 3rd place
  • Our Math 1005 and Math 1530 students dominate the top ten

Congratulations to Prof. Leah Frauendienst, Prof. Elizabeth Forrester, Prof. Mary Yarbrough, Prof. Johnathan Kenigson, Prof. Peter Melvin, Prof. Lingli Ni, and their students!

Blog Author
Office of Marketing, Communications, and Media Services
math competition participants and faculty